Brad Goetsch Wins Omtvedt Innovation Award for Teaching

December 9, 2020
Brad Goetsch Wins Omtvedt Innovation Award for Teaching

Brad Goestch, Assistant Professor of Practice in the PGA Golf Management program, is the 2020 recipient of the Omtvedt Innovation Award for Teaching. CASNR Dean Tiffany Heng-Moss describes why Goetsch was selected for this prestigious recognition:

“Brad teaches the majority of classes in the PGA Golf Management program. He is well-respected by his students and does an excellent job integrating application of theory in the concepts he teaches. Additionally, he integrates technologies to enhance his students’ learning. Engaged students result in increased motivation, enriched learning, and provide immediate and informative assessment of his instruction. Brad created Launch, the program’s own podcast channel, where he interviews recent graduates to provide a unique perspective for prospective students and their parents. Brad’s work and commitment to the education of students is commendable. His PGA graduates are well-prepared to enter the industry, where they often compete for the very best entry-level positions in the golf industry.”

Director of the PGM program, Dann Husmann, says of Brad, “He has planned and delivered on numerous events and activities that have greatly enriched the educational experiences of our students in PGA golf management in the classroom and in the field. His work and commitment to the education of our PGA golf management students is commendable. Brad is a huge asset for our program and an excellent choice for the 2020 Omtvedt Innovation Award for Teaching.”

Congratulations to Brad on this well-deserved honor!

The Omtvedt Innovation Award is made possible by Leone and the late Neal Harlan, great friends of the Institute of Agriculture and Natural Resources, in honor of Dr. Irv Omtvedt and his distinguished career at the University of Nebraska. The Harlans had the vision and foresight to realize the importance of recognizing and supporting outstanding and innovative work in the Institute. These awards recognize areas of strength and promise within the Institute, as well as innovation and excellence in teaching, research, extension and teamwork.