The Center draws upon the expertise of many individuals, units, and organizations within and outside the University of Nebraska. Although largely centered within the Institute of Agriculture and Natural Resources, faculty and staff in other units at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln, University of Nebraska-Kearney, Univeristy of Nebraska at Omaha, the Nebraska State Colleges, and universities in other states are also involved.

The Center continues to develop partnerships with additional institutions and organizations. For example, the Center facilitated formation of and continues to coordinate activities of three multi-state groups of researchers and extension specialists who work in areas of forage utilization by livestock, turfgrasses, and grass seed production. These partnerships will enhance collaborative efforts and allow the Center to better serve grassland interests in Nebraska, the Great Plains, and nationwide.

Associates of the Center for Grassland Studies

Programmatic activity related to the Center's mission is carried out by associates involved in research, extension, teaching, or technical assistance.

Policy Advisory Committee

This committee is composed of University of Nebraska-Lincoln deans, department heads, selected faculty members, initially appointed by the Vice Chancellor of the Institute of Agriculture and Natural Resources. In addition, directors of state and federal agencies serve on the board. The Policy Advisory Committee serves with the director to set policy, develop budget, review goals and objectives, and seek additional support for programs initiated by the Center. Current members include:

  • Tom Bragg, Department of Biology, University of Nebraska at Omaha
  • Craig Derickson, USDA, Natural Resources Conservation Service
  • Jim Douglas, Nebraska Game and Parks Commission
  • Mat Habrock, Nebraska Department of Agriculture
  • Terry Klopfenstein, Department of Animal Science (emeritus), University of Nebraska-Lincoln
  • Rob Mitchell, USDA, Agricultural Research Service
  • Brent Plugge, Cooperative Extension, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
  • Sabrina Russo, School of Biological Sciences, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
  • Jim Stubbendieck, Department of Agronomy and Horticulture (emeritus), University of Nebraska-Lincoln
  • Larry Van Tassell, Department of Agricultural Economics, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
  • Steven Waller, Dean, College of Agricultural Sciences and Natural Resources, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
  • David Wedin, School of Natural Resource Sciences, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
  • Dayle Williamson, formerly with Nebraska Department of Natural Resources

Former PAC members include:

  • Ann Antlfinger Professor, Biology, University of Nebraska-Omaha ... 2000-2011
  • Alan Baquet, Director (Retired), PGA Management Program, University of Nebraska-Lincoln ... 2005-2009
  • Dennis Brink,Coordinator of Undergraduate Teaching and Advisement
    Professor, Ruminant Nutrition and Kermit Wagner Distinguished Professor in Animal Science, University of Nebraska-Lincoln ... 1995-2002
  • Merlyn Carlson ... 1999-2005
  • Ron Case, Emeritus Professor, School of Natural Resources, University of Nebraska-Lincoln ... 1995-1999
  • Richard Clark, Agricultural Economics, University of Nebraska-Lincoln ... 1995-2005
  • John Craig ... 2000-2009
  • Steve Chick, State Conservationist (Retired), USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service ... 2004-2010
  • Roch Gaussoin, Professor, Agronomy and Horticulture, University of Nebraska-Lincoln ... 2004-2011
  • Terry Gompert, University of Nebraska Extension ... 1995-2011
  • Greg Ibach, Director, Nebraska Department of Agriculture (Former) ... 2005-2017
  • Anthony Joern ... 1995-2002
  • Kathleen KeelerProfessor,  School of Biological Sciences, University of Nebraska-Lincoln ... 2002-2006
  • Svata LoudaCharles Bessey Professor, School of Biological Sciences, University of Nebraska-Lincoln ... 2008-2009
  • Constance Miller, State Forester, USDA NRCS ... 1995-1996
  • Lowell Moser, Professor (Retired), Agronomy and Horticulture, University of Nebraska-Lincoln ... 1995-2005
  • Zach Reicher ... 2011-2014
  • Robert Shearman, Professor, Agronomy and Horticulture, University of Nebraska-Lincoln ... 1995-2003
  • Larry Sitzman, Executive Director, Nebraska Pork Producers (Retired) ... 1995-1998
  • Ken Vogel, Professor, Agronomy and Horticulture, University of Nebraska-Lincoln ... 1995-2011
  • Steve Waller, Interim Director, Center for Grassland Studies, University of Nebraska-Lincoln ... 1995-2017
Citizens Advisory Council

A statewide Citizens Advisory Council (CAC) is appointed by the director of the Center for Grassland Studies to provide programmatic oversight. The rotating membership represents a balance of diverse constituency served by the Center. Current CAC members are listed below with each serving through the year listed next to their names.

  • Jon Albro, Bayard, NE ... 2018
  • Jim Barr, York, NE ... 2019
  • Bill Bieck, McCook Country Club, McCook, NE ... 2018
  • Ron Bolze, Nebraska Grazing Lands Coalition, Chadron, NE ... 2020
  • Homer Buell, Bassett, NE ... 2018
  • Daryl Cisney, Ogallala, NE ... 2019
  • Barbara Cooksley, Anselmo, NE ... 2018
  • Jim Girardin, Arrow Seed Company, Broken Bow, NE ... 2020
  • Mace Hack, The Nature Conservancy, Nebraska Field Office, Omaha, NE ... 2018
  • Rod Horn, South Platte NRD, Sidney, NE ... 2020
  • Andre Hoyt, United Seeds, Inc., Omaha, NE ... 2020
  • Jim Jenkins, Callaway, NE ... 2019
  • Ron Klataske, Hutton Niobrara Ranch Wildlife Sanctuary/Audubon of Kansas, Manhattan, KS ... 2019
  • Josh Mahar, Wild Horse Golf Course, Gothenburg, NE ... 2020
  • Steve Merkel, Landscapes Golf Group, Omaha, NE ... 2019
  • Paul Meyer, West Point, NE ... 2020
  • Allen Overcash, Woods & Aitken, LLP, Lincoln, NE ... 2019
  • Dave Stock, Stock Seed Farms, Murdock, NE ... 2018
  • Wayne Thorson, Todd Valley Farms, Mead, NE ... 2018
  • Ray Ward, Ward Laboratories, Inc., Kearney, NE ... 2020

Former CAC members include:

  • Boyd Adkinson, Benkelman, NE ... 1996-2007
  • Tom Athy, Lincoln, NE ... 2005-2006
  • Frank Bruning, Bruning, NE ... 1996-2017
  • Roger Chesley, Callaway, NE ... 2003 -2017
  • Byron Eatinger, Thedford, NE ... 1998-2005
  • Duane Hovorka, Gaithersburg, MD ... 1997-2007
  • Jim Jensen, Herman, NE ... 1996-2009
  • Robert Milligan, Omaha, NE ... 1998-2002
  • Steve Riley, Waverly, NE ... 2010-2017
  • Lowell Schroeder, Stanton, NE ... 1996-2017